Alternative content

Get Adobe Flash player

EMI Artists and Songwriters Among Winners at the 54th Annual Grammys

LOS ANGELES – EMI writers and artists Kanyé West, Lady Antebellum, Corinne Bailey Rae, Chris Tomlin, Levon Helm and Joyce DiDonato were among the winner’s at this year’s Grammy Awards which were unveiled tonight in Los Angeles. Also honoured was EMI’s Paul Epworth who won the Best Producer, Non Classical award. This year’s Record Of The Year and Song Of The Year winner, “Rolling In The Deep” by Adele, was co-written and co-produced by Epworth. The show also included the first live performance in more than 20 years by all the surviving members of iconic band The Beach Boys who have reunited this year for their 50th anniversary.


EMI Group CEO Roger Faxon said: “Congratulations to all our winning artists and writers on these richly deserved successes. Their achievements across such varied genres and categories is a testament to their amazing talents, and everyone at EMI is so privileged to work with these incredible musicians. The live performances were fantastic and it was such a thrill to see the reunited Beach Boys back on stage together once again.”


EMI Music Publishing-signed Kanyé West went into this year’s Grammys with more nominations than any other artist and won four awards, bringing his career total to a remarkable 18 so far. Tonight he won the Grammys for Best Rap Performance for “Otis” with fellow EMI Music Publishing writer Jay-Z, Best Rap/Sung Collaboration for “All Of The Lights” with Kid Cudi, Fergie and EMI Music Publishing’s Rihanna, and Best Rap Album for ‘My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy’. “All Of The Lights” also won the Best Rap Song songwriter award.


EMI Music Publishing songwriter/producer Paul Epworth was honoured with the Producer Of The Year, Non-Classical Grammy for his recent work on many hugely successful songs including hits by Foster The People, Cee-Lo Green and Adele, including her global smash and this year’s Record Of The Year and Song Of The Year “Rolling In The Deep”.


After taking home an incredible five Grammys last year, Capitol Records Nashville trio Lady Antebellum won the award for Best Country Album for their third studio set, ‘Own The Night’, which debuted at number one in both the Billboard Top 200 and Country album charts when it was released last September. Band member Hillary Scott is also signed to EMI Music Publishing.


Corinne Bailey Rae collected her second Grammy for Best R&B Performance for her creative and emotional cover of Bob Marley’s “Is This Love” from her Parlophone/Capitol Records EP ‘The Love’. Bailey Rae’s previous Grammy win was in 2008 for her work on Herbie Hancock’s “River: The Joni Letters”.


Other Grammy winners tonight included sixsteprecords/Sparrow’s Chris Tomlin who picked up the Best Contemporary Christian Christian Album for ‘And If Our God Is For Us...’, Levon Helm who won Best Americana Album for the Vanguard Records/Dirt Farmer Music release ‘Ramble At The Ryman’, and Joyce DiDonato who won Best Classical Vocal Solo for her critically-acclaimed Virgin Classics album ‘Diva, Divo’. Following the tragic death of Amy Winehouse last year, her recording with Tony Bennett for his ‘Duets II’ album was honoured twice in the Best Pop Duo/Group Performance and Best Traditional Pop Vocal Album categories. Amy’s catalogue is represented by EMI Music Publishing.


The Awards show at the Staples Center in Los Angeles included a number of stunning live performances from EMI artists including Coldplay, Katy Perry, Rihanna, Glen Campbell, David Guetta, deadmau5 and The Beach Boys who were joined by Foster The People and Maroon 5 for the first performance in more than two decades by all the surviving members of the iconic American band.


Afterwards EMI's artists and songwriters celebrated at the biggest after-show party of the year at the legendary building of EMI’s Capitol Records in Hollywood. Sponsored by GreenLight Music, the industry's first online music synch licensing solution for iconic music, and by Patrón Tequila, the party took the form of an incredible carnival around the foot of the landmark Los Angeles building.


The full list of EMI Music and EMI Music Publishing Grammy honours is as follows:


Record Of The Year
“Rolling In The Deep” – Adele (co-written and produced by EMI Music Publishing’s Paul Epworth)


Song Of The Year
“Rolling In The Deep” – performed by Adele, co-written and produced by EMI Music Publishing’s Paul Epworth


Best Pop Duo/Group Performance
“Body And Soul” - Tony Bennett & Amy Winehouse


Best Traditional Pop Vocal Album
‘Duets II’ - Tony Bennett & Various Artists [including Amy Winehouse]


Best R&B Performance
“Is This Love” - Corinne Bailey Rae


Best Rap Performance
“Otis” - Jay-Z & Kanyé West


Best Rap/Sung Collaboration
“All Of The Lights” - Kanyé West, Rihanna, Kid Cudi & Fergie


Best Rap Song
“All Of The Lights” - songwriters Jeff Bhasker, Stacy Ferguson, Malik Jones, Warren Trotter & Kanyé West


Best Rap Album
‘My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy’ - Kanyé West


Best Country Album
‘Own The Night’ - Lady Antebellum


Best Contemporary Christian Music Album
‘And If Our God Is For Us...’ - Chris Tomlin


Best Americana Album
‘Ramble At The Ryman’ – Levon Helm


Producer Of The Year, Non-Classical
Paul Epworth – projects include “Call It What You Want” (Foster The People), “No One's Gonna Love You” (Cee-Lo Green) and Song Of The Year and Record Of The Year Grammy winner “Rolling In The Deep” (Adele)


Best Classical Vocal Solo
Joyce DiDonato - “Diva Divo”